Congrats!

Written January 11th, 2011 by MaliBuckeye

Auburn Tigers, 14-0 and BCS National Champions.

However, we’d be remiss if we didn’t share this bit of wonderful with you, courtesy of LSUFreek:

That kind of year.

Since we’re on the topic of controversy, let’s compare an officiating decision at the Sugar Bowl to one in the BCS Game this evening.  And yes, we know that it was a Big Ten crew with the Auburn/Oregon call:

18 Comments

  1. EricNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 7:36 am

    I don’t agree with the video. Dyer’s wrist was not down. He planted his off hand, but the wrist never touched turf. The officials made the correct call.

    [Reply]

    MattNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 8:29 am

    check out before he plants “his off hand.” his wrist is clearly down … initial contact is on his wrist, he shifts his hand and his wrist is still down, then he uses an open hand on the ground to push up.

    I could care less anyway.

    arkansas scored, auburn scored. we won, ducks lost. who cares, we won

    [Reply]

    ErictBBCNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 11:46 am

    I see, you’re arguing that he put half his forearm down before pushing off the ground.

    [Reply]

    MaliBuckeyeNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    What, you don’t have forearms that flex in the middle?

    Loser…

    [Reply]

    ErictBBCNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Apparently this is the reason I never played football. ;D

    [Reply]

    MaliBuckeyeNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Or, his ankle being on the ground:

    wrist

    ankle

    [Reply]

    Lurking_MichaelNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Great screen capping. The ankle touching down is what I originally thought I saw when I watched it live.

    [Reply]

  2. brownslovecoltNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 8:24 am

    eric, i’d have to disagree, respectfully, of course. i think it is fairly clear that his wrist touches the ground.
    and what is chizik holding in that picture?
    either way the game ended, all i could think of during it was “are these *really* the two best teams in the country?” I though it was a sloppy, boring game. After their last 2 bowls, maybe it’s time to ask whether oregon’s offense is actually good or if they just look good going against the JV defenses that populate the pac-10. Also, 2 BCS bowl losses in a row, think they’ll get scrutinized as much as we did? doubtful.

    [Reply]

    Lurking_MichaelNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Chizik is holding a crystal asterisk in the picture. Nice photoshop job and a good illustration that many people think this is a tainted championship that will be vacated once all the facts about Cam & Cecil Newton come out.

    [Reply]

    Greg N.No Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    We have to remember that its been a month since these two teams have played. This angle is getting played up at ESPN bc of how ugly the game was…strange how tOSU didn’t that kind of treatment after the 2007 title game after they had a layoff of what? 52 days?

    [Reply]

    TylerNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Nice, a crystal asterisk. Haha…

    Anyway, some day, some unfortunate coach or player is going to inadvertently drop the crystal football during the post game celebrations. I hope I’m around to see that and I’m glad I won’t be the unfortunate individual who makes such a horrendous gaffe…

    [Reply]

    MaliBuckeyeNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Like this?

    [Reply]

    ErictBBCNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Also, it was reported a couple years ago that the National Championship football trophy was dropped outside of Urban Meyer’s office.

    http://www.usatoday.com/sports/college/2008-04-14-trophy-broken_N.htm

    It was later reported to have been a recruit who bumped into the trophy and broke it.

    http://www.usatoday.com/sports/college/football/sec/2008-04-16-florida-trophy_N.htm

    [Reply]

    MaliBuckeyeNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    What the eff is it with Florida and those trophies? Just because they have several doesn’t mean they’re worthless…

    I mean, our players have lots of gold pants and championship rings, and you don’t see them…. wait… nevermind.

    [Reply]

    KenNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    I see where you are going with this, but I’m not sure if “destroying” is the same as “selling”. Nonetheless, we shouldn’t be making light of this…

  3. KenNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Not sure about that, there are a couple (significant, IMHO) differences between the two plays. In the Sugar Bowl, despite the ref’s explanation, it was not the runner’s wrist but the back of his hand that clearly touched the ground. And, it was the hand that carried the ball.

    In the Fiesta Bowl, the hand/wrist that touched the ground was not the one carrying the ball.

    Both calls were correct.

    [Reply]

  4. jonnyNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 10:14 am

    There should be some kind of rule change that, when a player is practically down like that, he can not use his hand as leverage to literally push himself back up.
    It was a heads-up (or hands-up play), but still, I think they should tinker with the rule in that situation.

    [Reply]

    KenNo Gravatar
    January 11th, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    I see your point. On the other hand, if a player were tripped up (by contact, poor turf, clumsiness. etc.) he should be able to use the non-ball hand to help him regain his balance.

    [Reply]

Comment On Article

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE
Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE