Men’s Golf: Off to the Regionals!

Written May 5th, 2014 by Ken

osu mens golf

The Ohio State Men’s Golf team was selected this morning to participate in the 2014 Super Regionals. Coach Darr will take the Buckeyes to The Club at Old Hawthorne in Columbia, MO.  From The Golf Channel, here is Ohio State’s Region:

The Club at Old Hawthorne, in Columbia, Mo.:

Teams: Oklahoma State, Virginia, LSU, Arkansas, Arizona State, Iowa, San Diego State, Missouri, Iowa State, Middle Tennessee State, Ohio State, Denver, Loyola (Md.), Bryant

Individuals: Pep Angles (Central Arkansas); Matt Mabrey (Tulsa); Logan McCracken (Tulsa); Daniel Wood (Kansas State); Alex Taylor (Fairfield)

There were 78 teams assigned to 6 Regions, as well as select individuals invited whose teams were not. The Regionals will be played from May 15-17. The low 5 teams from each Region and low individual from the non-qualifying teams will be invited to the NCAA Championship.

Congratulations to the Buckeyes for their selection. Fairways and greens, men.

Men’s Golf: B1G Tournament

Written May 4th, 2014 by Ken

BooCoaches Donnie Darr and Ryan Potter led the Ohio State Men’s Golf team to French Lick, IN this weekend for the Big Ten Championship Tournament. The Ohio State Men’s Golf team placed 6th in the event. The team put themselves in good position after their 2nd round 294, the best score of any competitor for the first two rounds. However, they couldn’t build on that in their 3rd round and slipped a spot to 5th place going into the event’s final round.

The host course is French Lick Resort, a par 72, 7,152 yard challenge. The Buckeyes were in contention through the first three rounds, with a team aggregate score of +45 (45 over par), putting them in 5th place. They were two strokes out of 4th place and only 6 strokes out of 2nd place. However, despite an impressive final round of 297, they could not make up any ground and they finished in 6th place, 1 stroke from 5th place and another stroke short of 4th place. Aagh! Had a putt dropped here or there during any round and the Buckeyes would have been a top four finisher.

The Buckeyes were led by Boo Timko’s 9 over par 297. Boo came up big in the final round, shooting an even par 72. Boo did have a couple of highlights this weekend. In the 1st round, he scored an eagle-2 on the 429-yard par 4 11th hole, and in the 2nd round when he got a hole-in-one on the 181-yard par 3 13th hole. Yes, there’s some luck involved, but that’s some pretty impressive ball-striking by Mr. Timko.

Also playing well for OSU was Tee-k Kelly who shot an 11 over par 299. He had the best individual round of any Buckeye by shooting a 1-under par 71 in the 2nd round. He started that round with a double bogey (never a good start), went birdie-bogey on holes #3 and #4, then put together close to 3 hours of outstanding golf. He played the next 14 holes in 3 under par. That is just scorching the course!

Oh, by the way, the B1G Tourney was won by Minnesota, whose total score of 1186 beat Illinois by 4 strokes. For comparison, Ohio State was 20 strokes behind Minnesota.  It sounds like a lot, but it’s really only a difference of 1 stroke per player for each of the 4 rounds.

Non Revenue: Men’s Golf Update

Written April 15th, 2014 by Ken

The Ohio State University Men’s Golf Team

Spring has finally arrived, mostly, The Masters tournament field succumbed to Bubba-Golf and I (finally) got my first round of the year in the books. So, let’s talk golf. Specifically, Ohio State University golf.

That was Then…

The Buckeyes have had their moments on the NCAA courses, enough for me to say there is a good golf tradition at Ohio State. Although the University only has two NCAA Championship teams it can point to (1945, 1979) there are several notable players that came through Columbus. Off the top of my head, the two most notable were Jack Nicklaus (turned pro in ’61) followed closely by Tom Weiskopf (turned pro in ’64). The other two that come to mind are John Cook (turned pro in ’79) and the pride of Horseheads NY, Joey Sindelar (turned pro in ’81).

While at Ohio State, Nicklaus won three top amateur tournaments, was NCAA champion and came in 2nd in the U.S. Open (won by Arnold Palmer).   Weiskopf also won a top amateur event. Cook won five top amateur events, and Sindelar won only one event. However, Sindelar was a three-time All-American at Ohio State and in 1981 was voted the OSU Athlete of the Year.

Read More

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE
Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE